primarykillo.blogg.se

Jahlil beats talk creative process of making beats
Jahlil beats talk creative process of making beats












jahlil beats talk creative process of making beats

He wanted me to do me, with the trap drums and all that, and he threw some crazy arpeggiators in there. He loved it so much he was like, ‘Yo, I got Vic Mensa coming through, would it be cool to get him on the joint?’ I’m like, ‘ Hell yeah it’d be cool to get Vic Mensa on this.’ That’s how it came about, man. was actually the last record that we did. You wanna come out and work?’ I was like, ‘Hell yeah!’ I got a rental car and drove three hours to LA to get in the studio with this guy. I was still out there in Palm Springs and he hit me up like, ‘Yo, I’m here in LA working on Justin Bieber’s album. He let me know how he was a fan of ‘Hot N*gga’ and all that. I ended up missing the show but I ran into him and we chopped it up. “I was at Coachella a couple years ago and, like I said, me and Skrillex got the same booking agency so they had me come out to watch Skrillex’s show. I’ma try to talk them into doing an album, like a Bobby Shmurda-Jahlil Beats album and a Rowdy Rebel-Jahlil Beats album. They’re not in there getting in trouble and all that so they good. They did a lot of time served so they should be out very soon. “I wrote Bobby and I talked to Rowdy in the last three or four months. I know it was tearing up the radio out in New York. Juelz sat on it, but when he heard Dave’s verse on it, he was like, ‘Yo, I want to use that record.’ They dropped the song together I guess. This is like a year before the song actually dropped.

jahlil beats talk creative process of making beats

We didn’t meet the deadline for the album, so I kept the record for myself and sent it to Dave East and Juelz. I was working on it and had Bobby and Rowdy come through and they did the hook. “ was actually supposed to be for Puff's MMM album. Me and Rowdy Rebel did a lot of music together, though. He got locked up like a month after that record really blew up, so we didn’t get enough time to work together. “We got about five records that we had worked on before  got locked up. Can you give me your blessing?’ I was like, ‘Yeah! Rock out with it.’ Sha Money XL reached out to me as well and was like, ‘I’m about to sign this kid, let me know what’s up.’ Sha Money cut me a nice check for that record and the ‘ Shmoney Dance’ record. He was like, ‘Listen man, I’m just trying to get out of the streets. “I found on Instagram and I reached out to him.

jahlil beats talk creative process of making beats

It was an honor for him to even touch my beat. I was happy because Kanye is one of my favorite producers ever. I think he was working on his album in Hawaii or some shit. I don’t even think was in the States at the time.

#Jahlil beats talk creative process of making beats full

The brass wasn’t full enough so he was like, ‘I’ma have Ye do some co-production on there.’ And that’s how it came about. Big Sean wanted it to sound a little bigger I guess. I don’t think he got credit for it, though. “A lot of people don’t know that Kanye co-produced that record. That beat was so hard I felt like I needed to put it on a bigger stage. I kinda recreated it but tried to get away with it so people would think it’s the exact same thing. I drew inspiration off that and this record I did with Meek Mill and Jim Jones called ‘ Gasoline.’ I sampled the old NFL Films with the bell. I wanted that same energy but slowed down. It’s a record with Meek Mill, Big Sean and J. But I did a record with Cole that I’m trying to put it out for my album on Warner-I did a joint venture deal with Warner for my label. But at that time, around 2012, I was working with so many people that I didn’t really have the time to do.

jahlil beats talk creative process of making beats

I had a deal on the table with No I.D., it was a song deal. We were finishing up the record ‘ Amen’ with Drake, and Cole came through and chilled it with us. I actually brought Cole to meet Meek that night.














Jahlil beats talk creative process of making beats